Sweet home-made sign above the vegetable plot

I received the following email yesterday letting me know about a little plot of vegetables growing on the verge.

I was at Bourke St Bakery in Marrickville (2 Mitchell Road) the other day & I noticed that some industrious person had a really nice veggie garden growing on the nature strip.  It was a pretty unlikely location & it was only about 5sqm, but it demonstrates pretty well that you don’t need much space to grow some fresh veggies.”

I also buy bread at the Bakery so how had I missed this?  Today I popped into Mitchell Street on a search mission & there, just beyond the display selling sandstone facades, I could see the top of a lettuce.

The verge here is long grass with no footpath & reminds me of the country.  There is some stuff dumped & there on one end is the most perfect little working verge garden with some really impressive vegetables, some herbs & some flowers.  There is also a cardboard sign next to the fence – Miguel’s Garden.

The verge garden looked really great in this industrial street & I would imagine that it gets a lot of positive attention from local workers.  What makes it special is that it really does show that you don’t need much space to grow food.  I found it delightful & also quite inspiring.

If you have been thinking about creating a verge garden, but wondering whether it is worth it if there isn’t much space, then hopefully these photos may inspire you too.

I am very glad Marrickville Council is encouraging the creation of verge gardens.  Personally, I can’t wait until verge gardens like this one is the norm as it will make our municipality greener & a much nicer place to live.  Well done Miguel.

It may be small, but it’s packed with food & is a great addition to the streetscape.

A very nice addition to an industrial street

 

