I saw the new verge garden a week ago.  It is impressively long while still giving plenty of room for pedestrians.

I saw the work on the new verge garden a week ago. It is impressively long while still giving plenty of room for pedestrians.

I was told I must go to see recent Council works on Grove Street Marrickville.  When I got there I could understand my friend’s enthusiasm.    People do get enthusiastic about verge gardens in this municipality.  To me it demonstrates that the acceptance of concrete is waning.

Marrickville Council have removed & replaced the concrete in front of two houses in Grove Street.  I presume the roots of the street tree had damaged the concrete footpath.  So instead of resurfacing the whole area with concrete, Council went all out & left a much bigger than usual space for a verge garden.

The residents had previously planted flowers around the street tree, so I imagine they will add more to whatever Council plants.  This will further improve the streetscape & add value to the properties close to it.  I hope that whenever Marrickville Council gets a chance, they will make larger verge gardens like this one.  It is better for the trees, better for stormwater management & it also adds beauty while still allowing people, prams & wheelchairs to travel safely.

While smaller roots were chopped, Council took great care around this root when building the kerb.

Council took great care around this root when building the kerb.

This is how the new verge garden looked today.  I imagine this will be quite beautiful once it is full of plants.

This is how the new verge garden looked today. I imagine this will be quite beautiful once it is full of plants.

 

