I like the sandstone borders & that a length of timber  has been used to keep mulch out of the drain.

I like the sandstone borders & that a length of timber has been used to keep mulch out of the drain.

I noticed a new verge garden being created by Marrickville Council workers sometime last year, but being on Edinburgh Road near the corner of Victoria Road Marrickville, it was always difficult to stop.  Last week I found a parking space so went to have a look.  I have no idea whether this space was once concrete or grass, but either way, greening it is much better.   I really hope this is a trend that catches on & that between the Council & the community, we can depave much of the excess concrete along our streetscapes.

This verge garden provides a nice buffer to the traffic

This verge garden provides a nice buffer to the traffic

The plants are only young.  I also like the green space on the opposite corner.

The plants are only young. I also like the green space on the opposite corner.

 

 

