Meet Lovely. He likes his food fresh from the tree & he likes variety.

Meet Lovely. He likes his food fresh from the tree & he likes variety.

While in Petersham the other day I came across a man walking with what I think was a male Eclectus an Indian Ringneck parrot sitting on his shoulder.  It was quite a sight with such a beautiful bird.  The bird’s name is Lovely.  He was very lovely so his name is apt.

On talking to the bird’s owner I learnt that most afternoons or evenings he takes Lovely out to experience nature. He finds a good tree with fruit or flowers & allows Lovely to forage & feed.  He also collects fruit & some flowers to take home to supplement the pet store prepared diet.  It was great to see someone committed to giving a good life to his parrot.

When I showed the photos to my husband later that night, he said he had seen this man & his parrot spending time at our verge garden & we live a couple of kilometers away.

Meeting this bird showed me that pet birds also need good food-producing trees as well as the urban wildlife.  This man needs to travel around Marrickville municipality sourcing fresh natural food for Lovely because it is not as abundant as it could be.  So if you are planting, maybe plant something that provides food for the wild birds & for Lovely.  I’m sure he will appreciate it.

