Everytiime I walk or ride past the Poplars from Mackey Park to Steel Park I always get a rush of happiness.  I love their seasons, the sheer size of them, their dappled shade & especially the sound of the wind throug their leaves. That they are always filled with birdsong adds to the whole feeling of joy.  These trees are the trees that most people ask whether I know of them & they all say that they love them.

Every time I walk or ride past the Poplars that line a good section of the shared pathway along the Cooks River from Mackey Park to Steel Park I always get a rush of happiness. I love their seasons, the sheer size of them, their cool dappled shade & especially the sound of the wind through their leaves. That they are always filled with birdsong adds to my feeling of joy. It has been common for people to ask whether I know of these trees & everyone has said that that they love them, so I know that I am not alone in this.  And then there are the Mackey Park Figs to enjoy too.   My photo does not do these trees or the landscape justice, so if you have not seen them, I’d recommend visiting.

ABC Radio National’s program ‘360documentaries’ is asking for stories about the community’s relationship with trees – past & present.  Some of these stories will be included in an upcoming radio documentary called, ‘Trees I’ve loved, Trees I’ve lost.’

“Do you have a secret tree? An imaginary, ghost, or a dream tree? Have you hugged a tree? Are you a protector of trees? Have you lost a tree? Is a there a tree which is often on your mind?  Are trees painfully absent in your life, or powerfully present?”

With much negative news about forest & urban tree loss through vandalism, mining, logging & development, I think that it is wonderful to have a documentary focus on the good that trees bring into our lives.   Surely some of us have a tree story to add to the program.

This link has more information about the program & shares thoughts & stories on trees.  The comments section is full of wonderful stories & in itself makes for a great read.  http://bit.ly/WKtQtJ

The deadline for submissions is Friday 17th May 2013.  The ABC asks that you keep your story to a maximum of 200 words – shorter is better.   Here is the link for submissions – http://bit.ly/XRi2Bv

Still on the subject, the New York Times recently published a wonderful story written by Bill Hayes called, ‘A Year in Trees.’  It’s a story of grief & the trees outside his window & I think it is well worth reading.

“I didn’t cover the windows with shades or curtains. I would wake with the sun & lie in bed & watch the tree limbs for a minute. Some mornings, the branches looked as if they were floating on wind drafts, as light as leaves. With a stormy sky, they turned black & spindly, like shot nerve endings.” http://nyti.ms/10DMD6U

Here are the Poplars at Steel Park.  They provide wonderful dappled shade for people to play under & of course, that lovely sound made by their leaves.

Poplar trees at Steel Park. Apart from being really tall trees, they provide wonderful dappled shade & of course, the lovely sound made by their leaves.  

