The colours are all wrong because I did not use a flash.  The carry case is a grey colour & the duck was much darker.

All fixed up & no longer in pain, this gorgeous fellow is off to Murrimbateman to live out his life as a farm duck.  Note: The colours are all wrong because I did not use a flash. The carry case is a grey colour & the duck was much darker.

Recently I wrote about an injured duck that came to our front gate. See – http://bit.ly/13zEOAa

I contacted WIRES to ask how the duck is faring & to ask if we could go to the release.  They said that because it was not a native duck, it would not be released into the Cooks River.  I had half expected this after an Ornithologist I know on identified it as a hybrid & warned that it may be euthanized.

Instead Ducky, is about to take the 288-km trip of a lifetime next weekend. He is going to live on a farm in Murrimbateman, 30-kms north-west of Canberra.  Makes me think of the movie Babe.

I was told – “The farm owners are lovely people who don’t kill & eat their animals, so it’ll just hang round making a nuisance of itself & have a happy life.”  I love WIRES!  They really are special people.

WIRES is run by volunteers who work around the clock to rescue wildlife & take care of them.  The organisation is also largely dependent on donations.  They also offer training courses for those who are interested in doing this valuable work.  All information can be found on their website here –  http://wires.org.au

