How beautiful is this!

How beautiful is this!

Eighth Avenue Campsie

Eighth Avenue Campsie

A couple of weeks ago I was in Campsie & came across an incredible streetscape.  The street was named Eighth Avenue & is fortunate to have large verges, as well as a large median island.  The section I walked had eleven Canary Island palms lining the avenue on each side with twelve Jacarandas growing along the middle of the traffic island. 

Planted under the Jacarandas were thousands of Agapanthus plants.   I can just imagine how these look in mid-spring & early summer when both the Jacarandas & Agapanthus are in flower.  My bet is that it looks stunning.

Eighth Avenue is much longer than the section I photographed.  The design elements of Canary Island palms, the Jacarandas & Agapanthus continues down its length as far as I could tell.  Not all the palms are the same size, so it appears that over time any that died have been replaced to keep the continuity.

Also of interest is that aerial bundled cabling has been used to protect the trees.  This will lessen the need for pruning by the power company & is money well spent in my opinion.

I was pleased to read that all the palm trees are heritage-listed & under the care of Canterbury Council.  The palms had been pruned of dead fronds, but in a way that did not remove most of the canopy.  The pruning was not noticeable for most of the trees.

Canterbury Council’s local history Wiki ‘Canterbury Commons’ says, The Harcourt model suburb, formerly Mary Redman’s farm, was laid out by W.E.H. Phillips in 1889. It had wide avenues ornamented by trees and statuary. The numbered avenues north-west of the railway station formed this estate, which was much admired as an ideal subdivision for the working man to build a house in the ‘peaceful repose” of the country.”  I wouldn’t be surprised to learn that the palms were planted shortly after the establishment of this subdivision.

I love it when I come across beautiful streetscapes, especially when they contain heritage trees.  Eighth Avenue is a treasure & obviously respected by the locals, as there was no litter, no graffiti tagging & no noticeable removal of Agapanthus plants.    I hope I remember to go & have a look next October-November when the street should be ablaze in blue/purple.

Reminded me of love.

Reminded me of love.

The streetscape continues on.

The streetscape continues on.

 

