The brand new Carrington Road cycleway in Marrickville South.

The brand new Carrington Road cycleway in Marrickville South.

Safety at last for cyclists.  Shame about the Fig tree massacre though.

Safety at last for cyclists. Shame about the Fig tree massacre though.  Half the canopy is gone.  These branches used to arch over the road.

I had the best & safest bike ride that I have ever experienced along Carrington Road in Marrickville South today. Previously using this road felt like I was risking my life, but as a main route, it meant a significant detour when I chose not to travel this way.   Trying to cycle along the footpath was not really an option, as it was very difficult due to the many parked cars.

After a long campaign & many Council Meetings, Marrickville Council has created a separated cycleway.  It is not yet totally finished, but it is open to cyclists & we are using it.  I passed five bike riders in the three minutes I was riding along the route.

I thank Council for this initiative. It has certainly increased safety for cyclists & I think it will prove to be very popular once people learn about it.

As I was cycling along Carrington Road I noticed that Council’s recent work to replant the lovely & distinctive verge garden in front of New Directions looked like it had been vandalized. The verge garden was made up of French lavender & rosemary – totally appropriate for a company specializing in the production of botanicals.

Council recently planted 55 lavender & rosemary plants to recreate the look. However, today, there are 31 holes where plants used to be & only 24 plants remain.  If they were stolen, it is really poor form. I wonder how Council can ever get ahead with streetscape improvements when this is the outcome.

Verge garden outside New Directions - with

Verge garden outside New Directions – with 31 holes where plants used to be.

A closer look. Such a shame.

Such a shame.

