Huge loss to this park

Huge loss to this park

I was told to visit Tillman Park as the lovely Fig tree next to the railway line had been chopped down.  The first connection I had in the park was with a man who was very angry that this tree had been removed.  He told me that the tree had been chopped down in the last couple of days.  The stump, about 1-metre round, was still wet.

I have no idea why this tree was removed. If there has been a Notification of Removal on Marrickville Council’s website, I missed it.

I hope Marrickville Council elects to replace it with another Fig tree. There are fewer and fewer of these trees in the municipality.

There is room for this species in Tillman Park.  Marrickville Council has designated Tillman Park a ‘priority biodiversity area.’  Fig trees are entirely appropriate as they are a great resource of food for wildlife.   Fig trees are also impressive & we need to still have such trees in our parks.

The tree that has been removed had a canopy spread of around 15-metres. Before Council pruned it a couple of years ago, the boughs looked like an upturned bowl making it a lovely, relatively private refuge to sit & enjoy the cool shade & the birds.  I shall miss this tree & I know that others in the community already are.  Right now the space looks like an empty scar.

This whole area of dirt & rocks was covered by the canopy of this Fig tree

This whole area of dirt & rocks was covered by the canopy of this Fig tree & there is more area behind the camera.

The stump

The stump

 

 

 

