Green wall in Petersham - a very nice way to prevent tagging.  It already looks good & will look very attractive once the vines have grown.

Green wall in Petersham – a very nice way to prevent tagging. It already looks good & will look very attractive once the vines have grown.

Compare with this just down the road, which is becoming a common sight across marrickville municipality.

Compare with this just down the road.  This is becoming a common sight across Marrickville municipality.  

I was driving down Audley Street in Petersham recently when my eye caught what I thought was espaliered climbing roses on an exterior wall of a corner house.   I returned a few days later to have a good look.

It wasn’t roses, but Pandorea jasminoides. What a great choice.   This vine is a vigorous grower & very suited to covering walls or fences. The large tubular pink flowers cluster in the way same as roses & flower between spring and late summer.

The vine will cope with Sydney’s changing climate being very hardy in both temperate & tropical regions. It also tolerates dry periods once established, making it very suitable for a hot wall covering.  Pandorea jasminoides is a soft vine, so pruning is easy & not needed too often. Especially wonderful is that it is an Australian native in New South Wales & Queensland.

They had removed a section of the footpath outside the exterior wall of the house.  On the wall, stainless steel wiring had been attached with hooks.  The wiring had been attached in a diamond shape across the lower section of the wall.  I would guess this is a recent planting as the vine is still young.  Give it a year or two, & the whole lower section of the wall will be covered with a beautiful flowering vine leaving no room for graffiti tagging.  That is a winning move in my opinion.

I don’t know if it is just my perception, but Marrickville LGA seems to have a lot more tagging of late & a lot of areas are looking shoddy because of it.  After seeing this work, all I can see is other buildings that could benefit from a similar treatment.  How pretty the municipality could look if this was the norm.

It is a reasonably cheap method to graffiti-proof a building.  I assume that the owners here used stainless steel wiring because they wanted it to look the best that it could.  However, you could do the same thing with any kind of wiring, as long as it was strong enough to hold a heavy vine.

The major issue is the removal of the concrete footpath. Marrickville Council will do this for a fee, which includes checking for underground infrastructure & taking the concrete rubble away. When you factor in the cost & time needed to keep repainting over graffiti tagging, I think it is worth getting a permanent & beautiful solution.

Something else that caught my eye was that they had also built their fence around a part of a tree trunk. I am always impressed when I see this & have written a couple of posts of the same in the municipality. I really like to see trees respected in this way.  This too looks good.  As I benefit from the work they have done, I thank them for this & the vine. I can’t wait until the vine grows so I can see the outcome.

Still on the subject of graffiti-proofing a wall, I have seen the same treatment done to the exterior wall of a toilet block in Beaman Park in Earlwood.  Here Canterbury Council has used Chinese star jasmine (Trachelospermum jasminoides) & ordinary wire to train a few plants to grow up & across the wall of the toilet block.

This is a hardy, evergreen, twining climber that has masses of small, white beautifully scented, star-shaped flowers in spring, thought it can spot flower at other times during the year.  It will flower in full sun, partial shade or total shade.  One plant can cover an area of 6-metres by 6-metres, making it a very cheap option.   Star jasmine will happily grow in a pot.  Marrickville Council uses Star jasmine as a ground cover in landscaping all over the municipality.

The toilet block in Beaman Park Earlwood.  I think this is a fantastic way to graffiti-proof a wall.  I am biased because I prefer natural things.

The toilet block in Beaman Park Earlwood. I think this is a fantastic way to graffiti-proof a wall. I am biased because I prefer natural things.

Stainless steel wire setup.

Stainless steel wire setup in Petersham.

 

 

