Mary Street St Peters.

Mary Street St Peters.

I drove past this work at the corner of Mary Street & Unwins Bridge Road Sydenham a few weeks ago.   Part of the road had been reclaimed to widen the footpath & I presume to manage traffic.   I saw that space had been left for three verge gardens & hoped at least two of them would include a small street tree.

I drove past again today & all three verge gardens have been planted out, but alas, no trees included.  I think this is such a shame because –

  1. At 16.3% canopy cover, we desperately need more trees.
  2. This street has very few trees.
  3. Trees would improve the streetscape here.

Council could have planted those thin columnar ornamental pear trees that they are planting across the municipality.   I don’t like these trees at all, but even these would be better than nothing.

Verge garden planting at Mary Street St Peters.

Verge garden planting at Mary Street St Peters.

