The Little Free Library at Hurlstone Park.  I think it is wonderful to see this happening & I  hope Marrickville Council decides to follow this initiative.

The Little Free Library at Hurlstone Park. I think it is wonderful & I hope Marrickville Council decides to follow this initiative.

The first time I came across the concept of a Little Free Library was on a Portland website dedicated to a plethora of community building initiatives, all designed to soften the streetscape & make neighbourhoods safer by bringing people together.   One of these initiatives was the Little Free Library – a small usually red box with a glass front filled with donated books. “Take a book – return a book.”

The first Little Free Library started in 2009 after Todd Bol of Hudson, Wisconsin, built one as a tribute to his mother & installed it in his front yard.  Rick Brooks, of the University of Wisconsin-Madison loved this idea & partnered with Todd Bol to spread the Little Free Libraries throughout Wisconsin. Since then the Little Free Library concept has taken off around the world.

“By January of 2015, the total number of registered Little Free Libraries in the world was conservatively estimated to be nearly 25,000, with thousands more being built.” http://littlefreelibrary.org/ourhistory/

I saw my first Little Free Library outside Hurlstone Park Railway Station & it does look good.  It was built by the Canterbury Men’s Shed for Canterbury Council & was opened only on 8th April 2015.  I think it was a brilliant idea to put this particular Little Free Library right next to the railway station & near the shops. I imagine it will be quite popular with commuters & shoppers.  Good one Canterbury Council.

