Cockatoo on the top of the habitat tree.

Cockatoo on the top of the habitat tree.

I wrote about the creation of a habitat tree in Addison Road Centre last October 2014. See – http://bit.ly/1bTy5LW

Sydney Blue gum turned into a habitat tree

Sydney Blue gum turned into a habitat tree

I was at the centre last week & was greeted by the sound of a raucous Cockatoo. He/she pranced around the tree before swooping low over my head. There were two Cockatoos around, so it looks like they may have moved in. Wonderful.

I was pleased to see that the tree was not producing masses of epicormic growth as happened to the tree in McNeilly Park. I was also pleased to see that bollards have been installed around the tree in preparation for the creation of a garden.

A sign explains what happened to the tree & says, “… it is home to Cockatoos, Rainbow Lorikeets, possums, microbats & more!” That is an impressive list of wildlife that has moved in within just ten months. I think it demonstrates the lack of nesting hollows locally.

I was also pleased to see that the front fence that was against the trunk of the veteran Sydney Blue Gum at the entrance to the Centre has been removed. The tree has been assessed as at least 150-years-old & is very important. Far more important than a fence, so I thank Addison Road Centre for doing this.

Taking off to swoop a metre above my head.  We both had fun.  I think it was the camera.

Taking off to swoop a metre above my head. I think it was the camera.  We both had fun. 

Bollards and a sign.  A very good opportunity to educate the public.

Bollards and a sign. A very good opportunity to educate the public.  

