There are 2 magnificent & healthy Hill's Fig trees outside the Marrickville Youth Resource Centre in Marrickville.  They are a local landmark.  How long before Marrickville Council wants to remove the other Hill's Fig?

There are 2 magnificent & healthy Hills Fig trees outside the Marrickville Youth Resource Centre in Marrickville. They are a local landmark. The yellow dot indicates the tree up for removal.  How long before Marrickville Council wants to remove the other Hills Fig?

You can clearly see the damage to the 40cm high stone fence.  Surely this can  be repaired without removing such a significant & healthy tree that is not damaging the building!

You can clearly see the small area of movement  to the 40cm high stone fence. Surely this can be repaired without removing such a significant & healthy tree that is not damaging the building!  Sad to see Council used nails to put up their Notification of Removal sign.  I thought they had stopped doing this.

Marrickville Council has given notification that they intend to remove a Hills Weeping Fig (Ficus macrocarpa var. hilli) at the Marrickville Youth Resource Centre, 23 Yabsley Avenue Marrickville.

They give the follow reason for removal –

“Tree is causing extensive damage to a significant structure where remediation of the damage cannot be achieved through reasonable and practicable means.”

Council says they will replace this tree with –

  • 1 × 700L Port Jackson Fig (Ficus rubiginosa) within Jarvie Park,
  • 3 × 75L Quandong (Elaeocarpus eumundii) as street trees adjacent to where the tree is being removed.

They do not say when the new trees will be planted.

I am angry with myself for not visiting & posting about this tree sooner, but then again, in the six years that I have been doing SoT, Council has removed all but three trees that they had marked for removal.

Marrickville Council says, “Tree is causing extensive damage to a significant structure,” but fails to mention that the structure is a low sandstone fence 40-cm high.  The damage affects 2-metres of the fence.

There is absolutely no visible damage to the building, which has happily co-existed with the tree for many decades. In light of the lifting of this low stone fence by the surface roots of the tree, the only response that Marrickville Council has to offer is to kill the tree.

This tree has been a significant landmark of the neighbourhood. It is around 20-metres tall & is the home & food supply of much local wildlife.

It has a glorious canopy over the footpath & over the street. It literally defines the entrance to the park greeting young people who attend the Marrickville Youth Resource Centre. The benefits trees provide to young people are well documented.

It is a disastrous ideology against significant trees & biodiversity that chooses to remove the tree without looking for alternatives.

The first obvious alternative is that a 40-cm high fence pales into insignificance when compared with the many benefits this tree brings, both to people & to wildlife.  Let’s not forget the carbon sequestration this tree performs for free either.

One obvious solution, if Marrickville Council is actually true to its word that it loves trees & values biodiversity, is to just ignore the fence & take the displaced stones away & let the roots be. There is no trip hazard.

The second alternative, if this 2-metre length of fence is important, is to retain both the fence & the tree. This option is cheaper than removing the tree & brings greater social benefit.

All Council needs to do is install a structural H-beam or a steel lintel just above the surface roots, install the same stones over the beam to make a reasonable match with the rest of the fence & secure the stones to the steel with metal rods.

I stress again, both the tree & the low fence can survive Council’s illogical decision-making process & live for many more decades happily together.

If  you want to save this tree, submissions need to be sent to Marrickville Council urgently with copies sent to all Councillors.  This can be done by one email & cc all the Councillors.

The deadline for submissions is tomorrow Monday 14th September 2015.

Contact details of Marrickville Council & the Councillors are as follows –

Marrickville Council – council@marrickville.nsw.gov.au

Mayor Mark Gardiner (Independent) – mgardiner@marrickville.nsw.gov.au

Deputy Mayor Clr Morris Hanna (Independent) – mhanna@marrickville.nsw.gov.au

Clr Rosana Tyler (Liberal) – rtyler@marrickville.nsw.gov.au

Clr Victor Macri (Independent)- vmacri@marrickville.nsw.gov.au

Clr Sylvie Ellsmore (Greens)- sellsmore@marrickville.nsw.gov.au

Clr Max Phillips (Greens) – mphillips@marrickville.nsw.gov.au

Clr David Leary (Greens) – dleary@marrickville.nsw.gov.au

Clr Melissa Brooks (Greens) – mbrooks@marrickville.nsw.gov.au

Clr Jo Haylen (ALP) jhaylen@marrickville.nsw.gov.au

Clr Chris Woods (ALP) – cwoods@marrickville.nsw.gov.au

Clr Sam Iskandar (ALP) – siskandar@marrickville.nsw.gov.au

Clr Daniel Barbar (ALP) – dbarbar@marrickville.nsw.gov.au

Showing the movement of the sandstone blocks. This is easily repairable.

Showing the movement of the sandstone blocks. This is easily repairable.  

Another view of the stone movement.

Another view of the stone movement.

Looking in the other dorection.  The damage is insignificant whilke the tree is anything but.

Looking in the other direction. The damage is insignificant whilke the tree is anything but.  There are no trip hazards on the footpath.

Showing the building wall directly beside the tree.  There are no visible cracks or any form of damage.

Showing the building wall directly beside the tree. There are no visible cracks or any form of damage.

Showing the otherside of the wall close to the tree. Again, no visible signs of damage.

Showing the other side of the wall close to the tree. Again, no visible signs of damage.  The tree is not impacting on the building, only the low stone fence.

 

 

Advertisements