A new bush garden. I like the sandstone blocks.  These will make nice seats to watch the passing foot and bicycle traffic and the river.

A new bush garden.  It’s much larger than it looks in my photograph.  I like the sandstone blocks. These will make nice seats to watch the passing foot and bicycle traffic and the river.

A few weeks ago I posted about five new native trees planted in a section near a sandstone cliff in the Cooks River foreshore Park. A while later the grassed area was removed & there was hope among people I spoke with that this would become a garden.

We cycled past yesterday & indeed it has become a garden & a very nice one at that. It has been densely planted with a selection of natives – some grasses, Boronia & Kangaroo apple.

One label said, “Cooks River Kids,” so I wonder whether this garden was planted by local children.  If so, they did a very good job & I thank them.

Also of interest is that the Bangalay gum is growing very fast.

It’s obvious that garden areas will surround all five trees eventually, which will be wonderful. This area has been underutilized, so it is great to see some beauty & habitat being created here. Thank you to Marrickville Council as well.

