I took almost 600 photos because everywhere I looked was gorgeous.

I took almost 600 photos because everywhere I looked was gorgeous.  This shows thewalking  path.  

I last visited Sylvan Grove Native Garden in December 2014 and wrote about it here – http://bit.ly/1juTe3B

Native Australian Orchids that were still in flower.  They are very small.

Native Australian Orchids that were still in flower. They are very small.

We returned today hoping that we were not too late to see all the native orchids in flower. We were late for most of the orchids, but thankfully some were still in flower. To see them in flower, you need to go in late August, early September, so this is planned for next year.

A lovely & very helpful staff member told me that June is when the Banksias are in flower & when there is lots of fungi.

Bankstown City Council has gone all out to provide a gift not just for their residents, but for all of Sydney & further afar. This would be in my Top 5 places to take visitors from interstate or overseas.

It is an easy meandering walk with plenty of bench seats available to rest or stop & take in the scenery & listen to the birds….. & there are lots of birds! This is the only place I have seen King parrots. I saw some last visit & again today.

Blue flowers. I didn't get their name.

Blue flowers. I didn’t get their name.

This garden is constantly evolving. The plants & trees grow, but there is also continued planting that goes on all year round. There were dozens of new plants that I noticed this visit.

Being spring there is much in flower. Many of the plants are drop dead gorgeous, while others are so subtle that you need to really look to notice their flowers. It’s exquisite & gardeners can learn a lot from walking slowly around here. The garden has over 500 species of native plants.

I highly recommend a visit to Sylvan Grove Native Garden. 7 Sylvan Grove, Picnic Point. Parking is easy.

Open weekdays throughout the year from 7am to 3pm.

Open weekends from mid August to the end of November from 9am to 4:30pm.

Male Australian King Parrott.  Isn't he beautiful.

Male Australian King Parrott. Isn’t he beautiful.

A species of Grevillea I have not seen before.

A species of Grevillea I have not seen before.

