The yellow dots show what I believe are newly planted trees.  Good one Marrickville Council.

The yellow dots show what I believe are newly planted trees. Good one Marrickville Council.   The Illawarra Flame tree in the background is putting on quite a show.

I last wrote about Jack Shanahan Reserve in April 2014, just after the park reopened after an upgrade. See – http://bit.ly/1VbnyNK

We ended up in Jack Shanahan Reserve this afternoon while enjoying a random bicycle ride around the area.  I am pleased to say that this park is looking great & was full of children & young adults. Being a skater’s park it is very popular.

Immediately apparent was the new trees. I counted 19 of them. Some might have been planted with the upgrade last year, but I cannot remember so many new trees & feel sure that I would have mentioned them in my post.

I wrote, “A number of good-sized Pin Oaks have been planted around the picnic kiosk & also at points along the path.   These trees continue what appears to be a theme in this park.  I was pleased to see that none of the mature trees on the hill have been removed. In 12-months when the grasses have grown & the trees are larger the differences will be more apparent.”

The new trees are Eucalypts & others, but not Pin oaks. They have been planted in the lawn area alongside the railway line. They already look good & very soon their canopy will block out the passing trains, plus provide shade & habitat for wildlife.

The native grasses have grown & filled out garden beds. It all looks lush & inviting – a park one would want to visit.

Unfortunately I saw young people throwing glass bottles at three Australian White Ibis who had come to inspect the barbeque. I am not a fan of signs, but I think Council could do well to install a sign here to tell the community that these birds are native & protected by law. It may help eliminate unnecessary cruelty to wildlife that have an equal right to be in the park as people do.  A sign may also help young people educate others who do the wrong thing.

This photo was taken in April 2014. Only one tree on the left.

This photo was taken in April 2014. Only one new tree on the left.

Same area today. There are definitely more trees.

Same area today. There are definitely more trees.

The garden beds were all planted with native grasses.  I think this is looking good.

The garden beds were all planted with native grasses. I think this is looking good. Plus there is another new tree indicated by a yellow dot.

