My photo does not do this space justice.  It feels good to be here.  There are lots of birds & the place feels cared for.

My photo does not do this space justice. It feels good to be here. There is  a very large Brushbox & a line of Casuarinas that sound great when there is a breeze.  There were also lots of birds & the place feels cared for.

Recently I received an email telling me about what appears to be community planting along the bicycle route in Stanmore, so we took off on our bikes to have a look.

The route takes you off Crystal Street, down York Crescent, into a path along the railway line & then out into Gordon Crescent. Then you come into something rare in this municipality – a wide strip of grass lined with mature trees. The space is like a long pocket park.

It is here that someone has been busy planting a mix of shrubs along the roadside in-between the lovely stretch of trees & also along the cyclone fence that borders the railway line. Some vines have also been planted along the fence.

I always think it is great when I see planting done by the community. Verge gardens interest & often delight me. Most street planting adds beauty as far as I am concerned & shows care toward the environment.

This particular work has the potential to create a very nice pocket of green that could double up nicely as a place of respite.   It is intermittently noisy around here because of the planes & trains, but cars are few. There are many parks in Marrickville LGA that just as noisy.

Eventually the vines will screen off the railway line. I can well imagine sitting here reading in the shade of the trees if I lived close by.

So I thank whoever is working on this patch knowing that it can be a considerable cost to buy plants & then the effort required to look after them.  With all the development due to happen in Marrickville municipality, green spaces like this one will increase in importance.

As an extra because it in in the same location - it was sad to see the whipper-snipper damage around the base of this old and grand Queensland Brushbox tree.  This tree is slowly being ringbarked.   In my opinion, it should be surrounded by some mulch to protect it.

As an extra because it in in the same location – it was sad to see the whipper-snipper damage around the base of this old and grand Queensland Brushbox tree. This tree is slowly being ringbarked. In my opinion, it should be surrounded by some mulch to protect it.

