Illawarra Flame tree - photo taken 2012

Illawarra Flame tree – photo taken 2012

The same Illawarra Flame  tree, but with aerial bundled cables on either side.

The same Illawarra Flame tree, but with aerial bundled cables on either side.

In my last post I showed an old photo of mine of an Illawarra flame tree in Marrickville.  It is one of my favourite trees in this street.  When it flowers it is magnificent.

Yesterday I drove past this very tree & noticed something that made me happy.  Marrickville Council, before being amalgamated, had organised with the power company Ausgrid, to protect this tree by installing aerial bundled cables on either side of the canopy.  The before & after photos appear that the tree wasn’t pruned to install the cables.

Now this gorgeous tree can continue to grow & be a landmark tree in this area, without needing to be pruned in the manner that has become usual for street trees in Sydney.

A big thanks from me to both Marrickville Council for organizing & I presume paying for the cabling to be installed & to Ausgrid for doing this.  I think it was money well spent.

